Some expert believes that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

A section of professionals supports the idea of including a foreign language to the curriculum of children at primary school instead of secondary school. In my opinion, I support this idea, teaching children a non-native language has various advantages.

There are various advantages why children should learn a foreign language at primary school. Firstly, students get more time to practice the language they learn at school. Since children have to learn more subject such as science, history at secondary school. Hence at primary school, they get ample amount of time to practice a foreign language. Thereby, they excel in that language.

Secondly, in a recent survey conducted by Anna University, students who are bilingual from their childhood excel in their studies compared to students who are monolingual. Thus, learning a second language from a young age helps them to develop their cognitive skills. As a result, they are more likely to learn and understand other subjects easily.

Finally, with improvement in technology and transportation, the diversity of people living in a community is increasing. By making children learn a foreign language, they can communicate effectively with various group of people in society. Moreover, by learning a foreign language, students also learn the traditions and culture of other people. Thereby, they respect people whose lifestyle are different which in turn makes the society a better place to live in.

In conclusion, students should learn a foreign language at primary school to more fluent in that language. Additionally, learning a second language helps them to develop their cognitive and soft skills which in turn helps them professionally and to be social.