Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no deny that education is crucial and integral part of child development. Some people tend to have keen focus on having a secondary language from early years of education. It seems to me that advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, the disadvantages of having multiple languages is of overloading. Young minds would not be able to concentrate on core subjects. The reason for this is having array of languages will put an extraneous burden to prepare for class tests and home-works. As a result, they will get deviated from important subject such as Science and Mathematics which are very vital for being successful in future. If core subjects are not strong they will struggle in higher classes and having an additional language will be more detrimental in the long run.

On the other hand, there are multifarious advantages of knowing multiple languages. To begin with, children can learn and grasp concepts easily as they have astute mind. As a result, any language taught in initial years of education will solidify in the long run and help them to communicate better. Another positive is professionals today work with folks of various nationalities and having a multiple sets of language will be helpful in connecting better with people across the globe. Hence it will prove highly beneficial to learn secondary language from primary school.

In conclusion, there are whilst learning foreign language in secondary school has number of drawbacks of which overloading is one of the factors, it has significant benefits with higher concentration and astute mind. In my opinion, the advantages of foreign language outweigh the disadvantages.