Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

The benefits of being sufficient in more than one language are unquestionable so there are advises that children should learn a new language as soon as possible. Advocators and opposers of this statement have their own reasons which will be summarized briefly in the following passages.

People supporting the belief that it is better if children starts learning a foreign language at their early years often claim that children starts are like sponge in leaning. They can absorb anything they have access to and copy what they learn from their observation. So kids with the access to a new language since small often have better pronunciation and accent of additional language than the ones who start learning later. Believes of this claim also list down some other advantages such as children can develop their confidence and communication skills when they that there is another way to express themselves to the world; or children have more means to explore the world's knowledge if they know another language.

However, opposer of this belief are using some recent research findings to point out that children who are learning two languages at the same time since small do not have same level of proficiency as normal children of only one language have. The reason behind this is that have to split their attention to two targets so it is very natural that they can not do just as well as when they focus on one. Not mentioning that some children may get confuse, they may mix two languages together when trying to communicate. This can be very discouraging in some contexts where people of the native language (like old people in the family) are not very tolerant in using foreign words when communicating.

Being aware of counterarguments of this issue, as a mother of a child, i still think the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. I chose to give my own son chances to learn English as an additional languages since small so he can take the advantages of it. To eliminate the disadvantages, I prepare myself and my families to accept the fact that learning is a life-long process, if he has not been very well at one language yet, we'll give him time and encouragements so he can master both languages at his later stages of life.