Today, it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

Due to globalization and economic boom, office places are not only have diverse culture but also have huge age variation in the work force. There are plethora of merits and demerits because of this situation. I will discuss both aspects before forming any opinion at the end.

To embark on, economy of a nation no longer limited to its boundaries and so do the working areas. On one side of the coin, organizations are getting various advantages due to the cultural diversity and work force age difference. Firstly, top managements of every company are highly qualified aged people as they have acquired humongous experience in their tenure and they can predict the future of the organization. Secondly, mid and entry-level staffs of any company are young because to execute vision of an organization we need energetic, agile and active employees. Lastly, if youth and elderly employee are perfectly blended in an organization, the future of the company is better. Because, aged people will pass on their knowledge to younger generation, which may become senior leader in the future. Moreover, the mistakes done by older leader will not be repeated by new generation if youths have a chance to work with elderly people.

On the other side of the coin, age difference may sometime develops few negatives in the organization. Thought process of youths and aged people are different. Young generation can think and execute any task at fast pace whereas aged employees are slow at execution. Furthermore, if young people oppose the idea of top management, aged employees find it the difficult to digest even though they are wrong due to ego.

To recapitulate, although there is difference in thought process and execution between aged and youth employees, the numerous merits of having mix generation in work culture outweigh the demerits.