Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Since time immemorial, humans may be it from the stone age or may it be from industrial era have always made efforts to have a strong hold over language, either one or more. Quite a few individuals, hold the opinion that s student should be taught foreign language right from the primary schooling, while on the other hand, a few people individuals argue that a secondary language should be incorporated only either at or after secondary school. In my opinion the grasping power of children is better during early childhood rather than teenage or early adulthood. This essay further describes the benefits and drawbacks for the concept associated with the argument.

There are numerous positives, of adapting a different dialect apart from mother tongue while beginning to learn reading and writing to communicate with others. First and foremost, during the early years of school, especially at the primary school, the brain is curious to learn new things, which includes picking up different language as well. Henceforth, the journey of training on a different speech becomes smooth. Secondly, the exposure to a foreign language at a nascent stage aids in developing cognitive abilities accordingly, thereby enhancing the sphere of vocabulary for that particular communication language. Last but not the least, the fact cannot be denied that diversification of career demands migration to distant places may it be for education or work, hence, in such a scenario knowing a different or associated language helps to resolve daily practical challenges associated with communication.

Keeping aside the praiseworthy aspects, a few scholars support the notion that a second language should be incorporated at secondary level of education, however, they neglect that fact that learning a language at later point in time negatively impacts the confidence required for public speaking. As a result, of which, either the student or individual feels left out or restricts his/ her company to children who converse in the same language, resulting in creating virtual boundaries which may have detrimental impact on one’s life or work choices.

In the light of the aforementioned facts, it can be concluded that learning a second language at a primary level of education rather than at secondary school definitely boosts an individual’s confidence and resolves the challenges associated with communication in daily life.