Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many linguists argue that foreign language must be taught at the elementary school level, instead of the secondary school. While it is beneficial to learn a foreign language as early as possible, it imposes an extra burden on little kids and hence may affect their mental and physical health in a negative manner.

In this modern era, due to globalization and acculturation, people, communities, and cultures have come closer than ever before. knowing different languages enables a person to interact and communicate with people from different countries and regions in a better way. Moreover, it may lead to better opportunities in higher studies and jobs. Teaching at the elementary level is benEFICIAL in two ways. Firstly, small kids learn new things very fast. For example, a small Chinese kid would learn English pretty much faster than a full-grown adult. Furthermore, earlier the learning starts, children are already prepared to do works and assignments in foreign languages.

On the other hand, the extra burden put on little kids may lead to increased stress and may affect their tender mind and health. For example, learning an additional language may require extra time and assignment thus cutting their playtime. Additionally, overburden may dishearten them and may lead to aversion form school and classrooms which might lead to behavior changes and tantrums.

To sum up, although learning a foreign language may place a child in a better position in terms of better education and job opportunities in the future, it may, however, come at the cost of additional stress and reduced physical activity.