Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie.Is it necessary to spen a lot of money to make a good movie?What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Entertainment industry is a billion dollar business in the Unites States. A hefty amount of money, sometimes even crossing millions of dollars, is spent by production houses in the making of a single film. Is it really justified to spend such money to make a successful movie is thus a debatable question. In my opinion, money is not the only factor that contributes to making a successful movie.

To start with, a vast majority of the film's budget is spent on casting actors just on their fan following and not on their acting skills. These actors sometimes don't do justice to the character they play and just look like a glamour figure on the screen. In Indian film industry for example, called the Bollywood, nepotism plays such a role in casting that certain struggling actors spend an average of 10 years to get their first break. Another big chunk of money is sometimes spent on shooting a movie in certain locations which may sometimes be unnecessary as per the script. Glamour and locations are secondary to a good story line.

There are numerous factors that may account for a successful movie. As long as you present a good story on the screen; one that entertains the audience, you can be sure that it will be successful. A movie well directed and the one that appeals its viewers to touch their soul doesn't necessarily need a big budget to make it work. Sometimes movies that touch a social issues of the society are well respected by the audience than the ones that are just entertaining without a big social message.

In conclusion, I would say that a good script mixed with some good actors are the perfect ingredients for a successful movie and budget doesn't matter.