Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie.

Is it necessary to spen a lot of money to make a good movie?

What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Nowadays, various film studios are spending millions of dollars on a single movie. Although a good movie is not completely dependent on the total amount spent but it is considered an important factor in making successful movie.

First of all, movie making is a long process and requires a huge team of technicians and actors. The total cost required for crew, depends on the production house and the length of shooting. In addition, the increase in the number of Sci-Fi movies has also created a demand for visual effects experts, which adds additional cost to the movie budget. For example, the total budget of move "The Martian" was around 2 billion dollars. As this movie was based on life of an astronaut on moon, the visual effects requirement was high. Therefore, sometimes it is necessary to spend a lot of money to present a good money and make it successful.

However, this is not completely true. A good story can be told in less expensive way as well. If your selling point in a movie is its story then it hardly matters where you have shot it or how. For instance, recently release movie "The Bankers" was shot in only 45 day with a budget of 2 million dollars only. This movie won several awards in US and was internationally acclaimed. Hence, it is not always required to showcase a movie larger than life.

Thirdly, a successful movie depends on various factors. The major factors are popular actors, good stories, renowned production houses and target audience. All these factors should be in sync to create a good and blockbuster film. A suitable example is "A Million Dollar Arm" movie. This movie had popular cast and a good story. It was also produced by famous production house and being a sports movie, it had larger target audience. That is why, this movie was considered as one of the biggest opener of the year 2015 in Hollywood.

In Conclusion, although for some movies, a massive budget is required but it is not compulsory to spend a lot of money to produce a successful movie. If all the major factors are implemented correctly, then the chances of movie becoming successful are higher.