Some governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

The increasing intake of junk food has reached at an alarming level. With this, some authorities think that levying higher taxes will help to reduce its consumption and lower the health issues which are caused by it. In my opinion, tax hike will be beneficial in curbing the fast food consumption however, governments should also focus on spreading awareness among the citizens.

To embark on, there are numerous reasons why more number of people eat junk food nowadays. Firstly, many people rely on outside restaurants to have their meals instead of cooking it themselves, due to their busy lifestyles. For many of them, fast food is not only a cheaper option but also saves times as it gets cooked quickly. Secondly, with the increasing customer base there are more number of outlets and it is extremely convenient for anyone to hop on to a nearby outlet to have the food. Furthermore, many fast food selling brands make attractive adverts by telling how delicious and tempting their food is. consuming fast food is not restricted to adults but it a wide spread trend among the kids as well.

Since fast food is considered as the food of the rich, higher tax rates will not be of greater help as it will only affect the section who consume it less frequently. Apart from this, government should make people aware about health impacts of eating fast food. it should be mandatory to display nutritional value chart on the fast food products which will give clear picture to the consumers. there should be laws to prevent having children in fast food adverts and they should be carefully scrutinized whether they are giving wrong information to the people or not.

To conclude with, levying heavy taxes will help in reduction of fast food intake up to a smaller extent however, by taking steps to guide people about its negative effects will further help to reduce its consumption.