In some offices, employees work in enclosed workstations or cubicles. Other offices have a more open design, in which there are no walls separating employees from their coworkers. Which type of arrangement do you think is most effective? Explain, giving reasons to support your answer.

I have personally experienced both types of working arrangements i.e. enclosed cubicles and open-design offices. In this essay, I will share my experience of both these working setups and suggest which one is better than the other.

In the enclosed workstation setup, each employee is given a segregated enclosed space, giving them some level of privacy. The employees can freely do their work without worrying about someone peeping into some confidential data. This arrangement is more advantageous for the companies that deal with sensitive information about their customers, like law firms. It is important for such companies to ensure the customers' confidential data is safeguarded.

On the other hand, the open office designs encourage more open communication in the work culture. In such offices, the employees across all the levels i.e. senior management, mid-level management, and the team members are all sitting on the same floor without any walls. This kind of setup is usually very helpful for companies that require frequent discussions between employees. For example, a share trading firm. In such companies, the traders need to have short talks amongst themselves about the stock prices or available quantities, and enclosed cubicles would create a hindrance in their communication.

In nutshell, I believe both types of office arrangements are good for appropriate profiles of the companies. The companies should advantages of these arrangements towards the success and growth of their business. Certain companies can use an enclosed setup to avoid any security incidents, whereas other sets of companies can bring ease of communication through open design.