Write about the following topic.

It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The concept of "work-life balance" has been trending recently. People, in general, have started talking about the burnouts from work and the recalibration of work-life balance. In this essay, I will explain the pros and cons of this concept and share my opinion using examples.

If we look at the various people who made big impacts on the world, they have always gone above and beyond their call-of-the-duty to make that contribution. For example, Steve Jobs has left an astounding legacy of "Apple", one of the largest and most successful private companies of all time. The unique quality and usability of the Apple products are the result of the strong foundation built by Steve Jobs. If you read his biography, it clearly shows that he worked round the clock for years, to build this company and bring it to the level it was when he left. It was his passion for work that yielded these achievements, which always took precedence over his family. And we all also know about the public outcry of his daughter about him not being there for the family.

On the other hand, if we look at a regular worker, an average middle-class person, who wants to work just enough to put food on the table. Most of these people see themselves committed to their family and personal life equally, if not more, compared to their work life. These people are not the ones who are on a mission to change the world or make it a better place to live. And for these people, work is just a part of life and there is a much bigger part of life - the personal life - that is more important.

If we compare these two categories of people, the key difference is their priorities in life. All of us have the same 24 hours in a day, and there are only limited things that can be prioritized for anyone. The first category of people chose to prioritize their passion towards work, while others chose family and work-life balance.

I believe there is nothing right or wrong, and people should be free to choose whether work-life balance is important in their life and they thrive to achieve that, or they let that go to achieve something else through their work life. We need a few crazy people like Steve Jobs to change the world, but not everyone can do that as well.