Some parents believe that child should not waste time by reading entertainment books but instead they should spend time to read educational books only. What is you opinion about this?

Though reading habit if developed, has no other comparison, but there have been heated debates sparked up regarding the appropriate reading content for children. Some parents expect their children to read only academics books and avoid other books such as comics, novels and magazines. This group of parents believe that aforementioned reading material will divert their children from their study. However, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint and this essay will support my opinion with relevant examples.

Firstly, by imposing restrictions on reading content, It will not help children to develop their reading skills. By reading educational books forcefully in one's leisure time, one can acquire higher grades in academics but it will not benefit one in long run. On the other hand, children who tend to read compulsively the other kind of books such as biography novels not only enjoy reading in their leisure time but also develop all rounder skills. For example, The Cambridge University released its findings on the reading patterns of youngsters that exposure of variety of content enhance the lexical resource range among those. Therefore, it is clear that when children get wide range of material to study than academics, they not only enjoy reading it actively but also enhance their reading skills. Moreover, reading one's favorite books boost one's mood as well as give relief from stress.

Secondly, by reading entertainment books, one stays up to the date. General awareness of such readers is considerably higher than educational geeks. For example, in an Indian television quiz show 'Kaun Banega Crorepati' a scholar was unable to answer the question related to latest movies because he was not into active reading of movies. Therefore, it is mandatory to expand one's limits to survive in this competitive society rather than gluing to educational content.

To recapitulate, it is important for parents to encourage their children to develop reading skills gradually rather than putting limitations on reading content.