Some parents believe that learning about mathematics in school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides

Whether or not mathematics should be taught in school is becoming increasingly controversial. While some parents believe that mathematics has become irrelevant, others maintain that it is vital regardless of its usage in the future. This essay will discuss both sides in depth.

There are a growing number of parents who believe that teaching mathematics in school is of no use. This is because of the increase in technology usage in today’s classroom. For instance, computers are now used in performing calculations which were usually done by hand in the years back. These days, in every standard school, each student own a scientific calculator while some rich parents equip their children with laptops. With these recent developments, these parents believe that teaching mathematics is a waste of time.

In contrast to the parents who wish that mathematics is removed from the school’s curriculum are the parents who maintain that teaching mathematics in school is paramount to student’s brain development. They believe that the world wouldn’t exist without science and because science is based on mathematics, these parents think the subject is a foundational one. For example, students are taught how to add numbers, multiply numbers and perform subtraction. Mathematics is not only used in schools, nowadays, technical interviews involve some portion of mathematical models.

In summary, while some parents think that the subject should be removed from the academic brochure, others maintain that every student must be taught the foundational subject of life which is mathematics. This essay discussed in detail with reasons and examples of why there is a controversy over this topic.