Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

There has been a raging debate among parents about the continued inclusion of mathematics in the school curriculum. Some parents are of the opinion that mathematics has lost relevance in the scheme of things and should not be offered by pupils, others believe that it should remain an integral part of learning. This essay will discuss both views in detail.

Parents who argued that the knowledge of mathematics has become unimportant say so because the lessons learnt are rarely applied. The lessons most of the mathematics courses are never used in real life scenarios which amounts to a waste of time. For instance, equations such quadratic and linear equations which require considerable effort to teach have no application in real life situations.

Some parents also believe that mathematics should remain an integral part of academics as the knowledge is applied in general decision making which cuts across many facets of life . A person grounded in basic mathematics would normally be able to compare different data and variables in choosing available options. For example, the knowledge of mathematics can be used to select the a cost effective method in planning for meeting expenses without the need for computers or machines which may be unavailable.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed the reasons for the divergent point of views. Although, some say the subject has little or know importance in everyday activities and should not be taught. Others have argued that it helps in decision making activities and should remain a basic subject for students.