Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only serious educational books. What is your opinion?

Some people think that studying amusement books is not worthwhile/productive. Despite this, kids should read only academic books. However, I partially agree with this view because both genres have different advantages and disadvantages which vary in the interest of person and career perspective.

On the one hand, almost every individual has a different interest, if he has a passion to read entertainment books does not mean that it will hamper his studies. These books could assist our children to build vocabulary, language command and increase the scope of thinking. Moreover, when a child has profound enjoyment in these books, he or she chooses this as a career option in the entertainment world. For example, if a kid reads comic books or novels he could start his career in script writing in movies and become a great writer or a novelist. Hence, entertainment books may strengthen a particular language and deliver a better platform in story writing.

On the other hand, educational books are vitally important for academic growth and personality development. These books have comprehensive details with well defined examples related to the contemporary world which leads to a student towards better academic performance. Furthermore, violent content is not a part of curriculum books which refrain students from violence or prohibitive activities. For instance, if any book issued or published with indecent content it will be banned by the government immediately. Therefore, due to these reasons, most people insist their children read educational books instead of recreation books.

To conclude, it seems advisable that we cannot generalize this statement that some books are beneficial or detrimental. Books are the friend of children which helps in overall growth of child whether it is in academic performance and or pursue as a career.