Some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of their time. In your opinion, children should only read serious, educational books. Do you agree or disagree?. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience.

it is a irrefutable fact that reading an any kind of book is a good habit. Still there are some parents who believe that reading entertainment books is a complete waste of time. they feel that children should only read academic books. However, I disagree with this first given statement. In the following paragraphs, I shall put forth my arguments to support my view.

There are many reasons why I believe that reading entertainment books is not a waste of time. To initiate with, one of the major benefits is that as children enjoy reading entertainment books, they will gradually develop the habit of reading. this proves to be very helpful in their later life. In addition to this, by reading non-academic books, teenagers can widen their horizons and get a knowledge about different fields. In this highly competitive world, it is the need of the hour as recruiters are more interested in a candidate who have basic knowledge of various subjects.

On the contrary , some parents opine that children should not be allowed to read entertainment books as they will gain no benefit by reading them. they argue by saying that it is a complete non-productive activity. Another reason for opposing is that most of these entertainment books is a fictional. Hence, it makes difficult for children to identify the difference between reality and fiction. Sometimes, children also pick up the negative traits of character of the book they read. Due to above reasons, they feel that children should only read educational books.

To put in nutshell, I pen down saying that even though reading an entertainment book has certain drawbacks , I firmly believe that parents should allow their children to read non-academic books if we look at the plethora of benefits this trend has to offer.