Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Having a great number of toys is a fantasy that every child crave for, though only a few have it fulfilled by their parents. There are some parents who bring a lot of toys for their children keeping in mind that they might learn or indulge themselves and their time in playing with those.

Every given thing in an excess amount to any human being is always harmful and will not help in any good cause, so when it comes to children excess of toys can also have adverse effects. First of all, it distracts the child from other educational and recreational activities. It also makes a child stubborn and least interested in any human interaction as the child always crave for toys and chose his toy over any other human or thing. Another disadvantage of having many toys is that the more toys you offer a child the more he will ask for and henceforth the temptation and his way of asking will keep on growing.

In contrast with all the disadvantages being explained, there are some pros associated with it but only a few are worth mentioning. For example, the child will not push the parents for their time and attention as he will be indulged in playing with them, another can be he can learn quite a few things with those keeping in mind if the toys are educational supportive or help the child in creating something.

The disadvantages clearly outweigh the advantages of a child having a number of toys, like any habit or thing that exceeds the required limit cause no good to any child or human. Hence, the toys that parents buy for their children should be under a limit and moreover, the selection of toys should also be in a way that it should help the child to learn and to expand the growth of his mind.