Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys

The debate over spoiling children with large number of toys has sparked debates on both sides of the spectrum. In my views, children should be given an appropriate number of toys instead of showering them with an overabundant number of toys.

Parents love to shower their child with love and affection. As a result, as soon as their child desires a toy, parents buy them for their children. Although, this creates a sense of bonding among parents and their children and children realise that their parents are standing with them to support their wishes and desires. But in my opinion, the disadvantages of buying excessive toys outweighs this advantage.

Despite the toys being an expression of a parent’s undeniable affection, parents are spoiling their children unconsciously by providing them with excessive toys. The harsh reality of the world is that, despite a lot of effort, people sometimes fail to achieve what they desire. And if a child grows up with the belief that his parents are always there to fulfill all his desires and if parents don’t make an effort in instilling this lesson in their child from an earlier age, then he will not be able to grasp this harsh reality. Therefore, sometimes restricting the number of toys to the child will help them understand that not everything they desire is achievable. Furthermore, parents are unconsciously making their children detached and unsocial by buying their children a lot of toys. With an excessive number of toys, a child will replace social interactions with their toys. Instead of going out and playing with other children, they will prefer to stay indoors and play with his toys only. This will have a negative impact on the child’s social developments.

To conclude, although toys are an expression of parent’s love and care for their children, but too many toys will make them antisocial and hinder their social growth. Moreover, it will prevent them from grasping the harsh reality that despite strenuous efforts, some things are beyond their reach.