Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

It has been observed that nowadays, people tend to buy a large number of toys for their children; regardless of need. It is perhaps intentionally done to distract their attention and keep them busy; this seems to be a smart way of neglecting the child. This factor has some advantages, yet, it holds some disadvantages as well. I will explain both perspectives in detail in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is quite beneficial and important for children to play with the toys. This activity involves learning many important aspects; such as keeping their belongings in a tidy manner, sharing toys with other children and avoids tearing and breaking the items belong to them. Having a lot of toys urges the sense of ownership and responsibility in keeping them safe. In running days, where everyone is encircled with gadgets; it is quite appropriate for kids to engage with a lot of toys that will eventually prevent them becoming the gadgets maniacs.

On the contrary, there are certain demerits of this aspect as well. Buying kids a lot of toys will result in careless attitude. Children will not realize the importance of money and insist on buying every item they like. For instance, my daughter is very fond of toys and every time we go shopping, she buys herself at least one or two toys. She doesn't take care of her toys and gets bored very quickly. Resultantly, all the old toys go to rubbish. This attitude is fatal for children development as they will replicate the same behavior while shopping at the older age. Physiologically, kids who get to have many toys suffers superiority complex as they think money can buy everything and consequently, they become thankless.

To summarize the aforementioned, buying a lot of toys is not a bad habit, provided that consequent behavior in kids is well monitored by parents.