In some parts of the world, the rate of divorce has increased dramatically over the past
few decades.
Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.
The divorce rate is increasing in many places. I believe that the breakdown of the
extended family and the stresses of work are the major causes of this situation.
Fortunately, although these issues have led to a rise in the divorce rate, there are
ways we can solve this problem.
In my opinion, the biggest cause of divorce is the breakdown of the extended
family. In the past, a family was made up of parents, grandparents, children, and
other relatives. This meant that there was always somebody available to help
with child care. It also meant that expenses could be shared in times of financial
difficulty. These days, people often don't have this kind of support from their
families, and this puts more stress on a marriage.
Stress in the workplace is another cause of divorce. These days, people are
often expected to work longer hours than they did in the past. This means they
spend less time at home with their families. It also means that when they are at
home, they are tired and probably irritable, too. All of this adds up to an unhappy
family life.
Fortunately, there are things that can be done to solve some of these problems
if people really want to. People can decide to live closer to their extended family.
They can invite their elderly parents to live with them or look for a job closer to
their relatives' homes. People can also look for less demanding jobs or decide to
have one parent stay at home instead of working. These things require changing
one's lifestyle in some big ways, but they can lead to a happier marriage and
There are a lot of demands in modern life that place stress on a marriage and
lead to divorce. However, people can choose to make changes to their lifestyle
that can result in a better, stronger marriage.