Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The argument about purpose of university education still continues. While some individuals think the objective is to prepare graduates for labour market and get employment opportunities, others feel there are numerous advantages of tertiary education for the people and community. Although both views will be considered in this essay, but I absolutely believe that tertiary education benefits in ways such as research and development.

On the one hand, proponents believe that higher institution only prepare students for acquiring employability skills for some reasons. Firstly, schools prepare students for specific disciplines. For instance, as a mass communication student, one will definitely work in the media section. Lastly, it is increasingly common for universities to measure their achievement based on the number of graduates who were able to secure employment.

On the other hand, I believe that universities have numerous ways by which they positively affect the nation. First and foremost, their research works assist in discovering the root causes of problems, and as a result, they provide feasible solutions. Another point is from the society development perspective. The individuals make up the community, and the vast knowledge which was acquired in school is imperative to the growth of the community. For instance, the political science graduates enact laws that constitute the country One final point concerns entrepreneurial skills. Most institutions now teach students to be self-employed rather than applying for a job. For this reason, the employment rate is increasing in the country.

In conclusion, advocates believe that school specifically train students for the labour market. However, I feel the benefits such as development and discoveries help the society in general.