Many old buildings protected by law are part of the nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones

How important is it to maintain old buildings ?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

The law is protecting several ancient architectural structures that are associated with the history of the country. While some individuals feel these aged buildings ought to be demolished and reconstructed, I think maintaining the originality of these old houses is important for educational and tourism purposes. Although the advancement of the structures would be beneficial, the history of the nation is equally important.

Admittedly, replacing the old buildings with new ones could be advantageous. Clearly, the modern architectural designs would have advanced features that could guarantee safety. This is because the materials such as, concrete and iron which would be used for the construction of these houses would be stronger and more reliable. For instance, the majority of the new architectural structures in Lagos are flood resistant. Unlike the ancient buildings, these structures are safe from collision during heavy rainfall.

However, with regards to the old structures, there are ways the country benefits from its existence. First and foremost, the old buildings serve as tourist attractions; for example, Egypt's Pyramids attract millions of tourists yearly. In brief, as old buildings are attractive, they could generate huge revenue for a nation. Another significant way aged houses may be essential concerns education. In order to educate youth effectively about the country's heritage, it is important that the old buildings which would depict the aesthetic values are maintained. This means that old buildings facilitate education

In conclusion, despite the reliability that modern buildings could bring in terms of safety, the historic and educational value of the ancient architectural houses cannot be underestimated. In other words, the progress is important as well as the value of history.