Some people believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving more than other buildings What type of old buildings are worth preserving Do the advantages of preserving these buildings outweigh the disadvantages

There are some people who believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving more than other buildings. This belief is based on the fact that these buildings will help in generating finance, encourage tourism and so on.

First, let’s take a look at buildings such as the Presidential Villa in Aso Rock Abuja. This structure serves as a symbolic building in Nigeria where the President of the country resides during his tenure. It is of necessity for the Presidential Villa to be preserved because it serves as a shelter to the President in power. Second, the Ojukwu Bunker which was named after the Biafran leader “Chukwuemeka Ojukwu” and served as a hideout for him and his generals during the Nigerian Civil War is an example of another building worth preserving. This structure has attracted international tourists, and schools visiting for educational purposes. Third, the palace of King Jaja of Opobo falls into the category of old buildings worth preserving. The preservation of this palace has attracted international tourists from all over the world and it has also attracted journalists too. It is also in the history books, so it is worth preserving.

In other words, I believe that the advantages of preserving these buildings outweigh their disadvantages. Preserving the Aso Rock Villa will ensure the Head of State stays in a conducive environment and carries out his official duties effectively. An in-conducive environment would create distractions! Tourism helps the economy of a country thrive, so keeping our old buildings such as the Ojukwu Bunker and the Palace of King Jaja of Opobo would encourage tourists to visit.

In conclusion, I believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving and I believe their advantages outweigh their disadvantages.