Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people declare that learning on TV is a practical method for children so this way should be voted both at home and in class. Gaining knowledge from TV might be useful in some aspects, but it should not be encouraged due to some shortages.

Some teaching programs on TV are well-designed to attract children’s interests and be suitable for children to widen their horizons. These programs place natural science knowledge into lively images and pleasant background music, which allow children to obtain basic natural knowledge in a relaxed atmosphere, such as the names of botany and animal species, the structure of the space, and planets. In some news channels, children get to know the affairs of the state, which is beneficial for some subjects like politics and society. What’s more, some channels also provide children with courses, from which children can consolidate their daily learning.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of learning on TV overweigh the advantages of that. Though learning channels offer courses, the lake of interaction reduces the efficiency of learning. It is totally different from taking courses in class because teachers will answer questions for students immediately and give homework and review for students so that they can correct their mistakes in time. Furthermore, children’s will power is usually not strong thus they might turn to watch recreation TV programs without a supervisor, which will affect their daily school study.

In conclusion, learning from TV might be useful, but the shortcoming overweighs the advantages so it should not be advocated at home and at school.