A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods To what extent do you agree or disagree

Extending sentences is sometimes regarded as a beneficial way to punish those serious offenders. This approach has some advantages though, I am in full agreement that there are some other ways that are better to reform offenders and reduce crimes.

On the one hand, a longer prison term can prevent offenders from breaking laws to some extent. Some frequent offenders can be kept in jails so that they won’t threaten other citizens’ safety. They can also act as a method to enlarge the strike dynamics to deter those who might break the laws. However, extending the punishment can bring many problems too. For example, such a long penalty will cost more revenue to regulate the offenders and it is difficult for the offenders to integrate into society again after a long prison term.

On the other hand, there are some better ways to punish those who break the laws and reduce crimes. Some offenders are young people so giving them education is a possible way to make them aware of the severity of breaking laws. Furthermore, we can offer them vocational education so they can make a living after the prison term. Aim at reoffending, regulators could arrange supervisors to take behaviour control to make sure the offenders won’t return the environment that is liable to cause crime. Last but not the least, the most important way is to cut criminal sources such as drug abuse and family violence which are the inducements to crimes.

In conclusion, extending sentences have some benefits but there are many other ways that are worthy to take to punish the offenders and decrease the crimes.