Some people who have been successful in society don’t attribute their success to the theoretical knowledge they learned from their university. Do you agree the theoretical knowledge is not as valuable as expected?

Many people who are successful in their careers attribute their success to their social skills, working abilities, etc, rather than theoretical knowledge. This may be true in some cases, but I do not agree with the notion that knowledge gained in university is of little value to one’s career achievement.

There are absolutely many reasons for a person to become successful in society and several of them contribute a lot besides theoretical knowledge. Social skill plays a significant role because maintaining good relationship with fellows and customers would make one’s working life smoothly and may reduce much possible unnecessary conflicts and barriers. And people need to accumulate working experiences and enhance their abilities in order to finish their work outstandingly. Besides, some inner qualities are crucial for one to success in their career, for example, being honest and dependable which can bring a sense of trustworthiness would make your superior arranges more significant work for you and you may get more opportunities to promote.

However, good mastery of theoretical knowledge is also vital to one’s success. One who masters theoretical knowledge well would have solid foundation, especially in some realms that need people to have strong basic, for example, excellent musicians always have solid foundation of music theoretical knowledge. Furthermore, great creation in works always comes from those who have good understanding of their basic knowledge. In addition, the process of learning theoretical knowledge is a well-training process of preciseness and critical thinking ability, which are crucial for the success in one’s life.

Therefore, though there are some other important reasons for a person to be successful, good mastery of theoretical knowledge also contributes a lot.