Some people believe that children who are given pocket money every week have less problems managing money when they become adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The prevalence of pocket money which are provided weekly by their parents among adolescence. Although some people claimed that this trend harms children when they turn to adults, I, however, believe that it is the positive development as it helps them in managing money easily so that they do not worry to confront with any problems come on the way.

One concern in terms of pocket money is that it prevents children from theft vulnerability. This is because if they are imparted sufficient amount once a week through their guardian automatically they feel satisfied after spending some amount. As a result, they are able to save little proportion of that pocket money. In contrast, often children from poor family backgrounds tend to assess to a robbery to fulfil their needs which is generating from lack of pocket money.

Saving and expenses are the other areas of concern. Getting pocket money weekly means adults can do their expenditure accordingly by managing it aside in the form of saving. For example, if the children get pocket money of Rs 250 once a week he knows he has to manage this money for both saving and expenses like Rs 150 and Rs 100 respectively so he will scrupulously spend his amount which he has kept for extra expenses. As a result, they come across with the skill of money managing and due to this habit, it is not difficult for them to deal with any obstacles related to the money in the future.

In conclusion, not only does pocket money deter children to attempt any crime like robbery or theft, but also it inculcates money managing ability in the children. Therefore, I agree children should provide pocket money every week as it is a positive symbol to deal with any problem.