People today are spending more and more time outside of the home. What are the reasons for this trend? What effects is it having on individuals and society?

Nowadays, most people spend their time outside the home because of globalization and urbanization. This trend is mainly due to long working hours and spending their time on leisure activities, which has affected both - individual as well as society.

It is a fact that most companies have to survive in the competitive market, which compels them to increase the number of working hours by giving overtime to their employees, which means that most employees spend most of their time outside and work a long time in the offices to achieve the target of the company. Moreover, many people have taken the membership in the clubs, the ticket prices of the cinema have been reduced, and most merchandises give offers to their customers, resulting to spend their weekend on such places rather than spending at home.

These causes have severely affected individuals and society. In terms of the individuals, if they worked longer time at the office, not only would it affect their health but on their family. For instance, in China, it has found that 85% of employees who are working for a long time have the dearth of sleep, stress, and unhealthy family relationship. In terms of society, the entertainment industry and hospitality industry create several jobs in the market, which allows the youngsters to have a decent job for survival in the market and a valuable experience after studies.

In conclusion, remaining outside from home due to working for a longer time cause health issues and poor family relationship on an individual, whereas, spending leisure time outside rather than be at home on the weekend allows an entrepreneur to create job opportunities in the market.