Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences. Others may think there are alternative ways to this problem. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A number of people think that longer sentences can help reduce the crime rate. However, this issue is not straightforward and arguments can be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the longer penalties such as life in a prison for years cite the various benefits. These range from the decrease in the crime rate to gaining the social safety. In order to reduce the crime rate, criminals particularly murderers should be punished by the severest and the longest sentences. Due to the fact that they can realize serious consequences of their fault. If criminals do not accept the longer sentences, they will commit their errors in different ways. In addition, another argument is that living in the safe society is a real right for people. If governments did not consider tough punishments to criminals, the crime rate would increase in societies. Thus, individuals will have to live in an unsafe society in which everyone could permit yourself to do anything wrong without considering others.

By contrast, the opponents of the view point that there are a lot of alternative approaches by which states could punish the criminals. This group believes that living in prison, for instance, can be enough beneficial neither the societies nor the criminals. Indeed, states should employ the criminals to do some activities which can be helpful to people. For example, there is a wide range of community services that can be considered as the effective sentences. These types of punishments are useful not only to people or governments but also to the criminals. On the other words, the criminals could learn how it is possible to be useful to their societies.

On balance, although considering longer sentences may be required in some cases, it seems obvious that these kinds of penalties cannot have positive effects on both the crime rate and making changes into the criminals' attitude.