Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued by a certain number of people that the violence rate will rise if policemen will be armed. However, I firmly discord with this kind of notion because it will reduce the crime rate in society. The following essay will discuss why policemen should carry weapons while doing their public duties to preserve a safe and secure environment in society.

Evidently, the prime reason behind carrying a gun is to deter criminal acts. Thieves or criminals would think twice or be scared before commencing any crime if they know police officers around them are armed. Consequently, violence and crime will significantly decline in society. For instance, a robber might stop his criminal actions or thought if he is afraid of police officials carrying guns and snipers that could shoot him from a long distance. On the contrary, failure to carry a weapon gives offenders a strong advantage in terms of the ability to commit violence without any corresponding risks.

Moreover, the other reason is that police officers can protect themselves and hostages from dangerous situations. Certainly, numerous criminals keep various harmful and life-threatening weapons, which they can use against not only police persons but also on hostages. Therefore, if there were safety precautions for police officials, there, as well as innocent lives of citizens could have come at a risk. To exemplify, in many terror attacks globally, the terrorists killed innocent individuals and policemen. Hence, in such circumstances, policemen should be armed for such necessary precautions.

To conclude, although some people oppose carrying weapons by police officers in fear of violence, I completely disagree with this kind of notion because to control and reduce crime rate as well as to save general public, police officials should carry a gun.