Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

It has been an alarming condition across the globe regarding animal abuse and the controversy over the necessity of zoos. While the existence of zoological space is still widely believed to play a crucial role in entertainment and education, I tend to support the idea that animals of all species are deserved to live in their natural habitats and have their freedom.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why zoos are becoming pervasive in the modern society. First of all, the introduction of animal displays are meant to satisfy human curiosity and to amuse human superiority. This initial intention has been perpetuated through the expansion of zoos all over the world. Today, zoos have become one of the most favorite destinations for family. Besides, observing a wide range of animals from different parts of the world contributes toward the cognitive development and expands our knowledge about nature. Children would be able to see penguins from the South Pole and polar bears from the North Pole right in the central park of New York. Hence, it is undeniable the positive impact of zoos in delivering animated visuals and mesmerizing experience to the wide audiences.

However, despite some of its perks, more and more people have been aware of its drawbacks and supporting the idea of animal freedom due to numerous reasons. Firstly, when animals are removed from their natural habitats, their natural instincts deteriorate drastically. For example, lions under captivity would lose their ability to hunt preys because they are fed with raw meats everyday. Secondly, being kept in a small area may have pernicious impact on animals. For example, many of them would suffer depression after a passage of time. Finally, animal abuse is also a growing concern when zoo animals have not been treated properly in many developed countries. Without sufficient funds from the governments and visitors, not only are zoos unable to provide adequate source of nutrition, but they also does not receive proper training to take care of animals, which results into animal abuse.

In conclusion, while it is still a contentious issue whether zoos are there to be retained, I believe the wilderness is where animals truly belong.