Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

some people support the idea that recycling should be encouraged by a set of legislation. while I believe imposing laws to make recycling compulsory is necessary, I would argue that companies and individual should be responsible as well towards the environment.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why laws are effective to drive people to commit to the act of recycling. firstly, if there are fines, people tend to pay more attention to the issues. The fear of losing money will result in more careful behavior from both enterprises and individuals. Secondly, laws upon recycling would take an immediate and widespread effect within society. In many European countries, the ban on plastic bags used in supermarkets has a prodigiously positive impact on the community. people have opted to recycle their cloth bags to go groceries and get accustomed to the good habit.

On the other hand, responsibilities to recycle as much as possible should be conducted by companies and individuals without any hesitation and legal requirements. firstly, if firms are aware of the consequences of their actions, they should know how to adapt. For example, many restaurants and cafes across the globe have stopped using plastic straws and replaced them with alternatives made from environmentally friendly materials like bamboo, glass and steel. This contributes to the decreasing numbers of plastic straws globally last year. Additionally, people would also need to play our parts as smart consumers because there are no surveillance cameras that would follow us 24/7. For instance, reusable glasswares are getting more prevalent to take away foods instead of single-use containers.

In conclusion, some measures should be applied to companies and individuals by governments to ensure the application of recycling, while enhancing the awareness of benefits of recycling and negative effects of over-consuming culture in the community also plays a crucial part to protect the environment.