Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student`s field of study.

While it might be helpful to take an eclectic range of courses, I do believe that undergraduate studies should provide in-depth and focus knowledge in a particular major.

First, when a student has decided on a major, it is crucial to equip him/her with fundamental information within the 4 years of study. The duration of the undergraduate programs may seem long but it is only sufficient to provide the foundation for the students before they jump into the real world industry, where jobs are increasingly demanding. Many surveys have shown that students feel not ready for their first jobs. It is attributed to the education which focuses on the broadness in stead of depth and the application end of the knowledge. It would be helpful if the first two years are meant for the foundation knowledge of the field and the last two years will allow students to dive into the sub categories of the topics like Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning if they chose Computer Science as their majors.

Secondly, if there is a requirement to fulfill other elective courses outside of the main major, it not only takes up valuable time of the students, but also may affect the his/her overall performance. Studying subjects rather than your interested subjects may demand more mental efforts and thus take longer to finish assignments. Additionally, if students are not able to perform well on these electives, it may pose adverse effects on the average GPA. Unfortunately, this GPA then would not reflect the real performance of the students on their intended subjects.

Thirdly, not only do students have some disadvantages, universities also may face some difficulties to cope with this guideline due to their course limitation. Smaller size universities would have a hard time to accommodate sufficient elective options for their students. More budget dedications would be reallocated to expand their academic faculties. However, this expansion does not guarantee a better quality output since it provides student with a broader yet not deeper knowledge. The budget would be rather be invested to improve the laboratory equipment or study facilities or to get more acclaimed professors and experts in the field of study. The exposure with the pundits and latest inventions help students to integrate better when they enter the workforce.

In short, I am more inclined to the fact that students should focus on their major in the higher education. And it would need more evaluations in terms of pros and cons to decide whether students are compulsory to take course outside of their field of study in universities.