Some people believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught, while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in life. Discuss both sides.

A section of society believes that mathematical knowledge is not required and should not be a part of a school curriculum. However, few consider it to be an important subject that should be taught regardless of its applicability in real life. In my opinion, mathematics should be taught in school as its basic knowledge is required in building any profession.

To begin with, the prime reason for imparting mathematical knowledge to a child is because calculations are needed in every phase of life. Admittedly, counting numbers as well as addition and subtraction skills are required by every person to deal with routine activities. As every man has to monitor his expenses, this cannot be possible if he is not educated in elementary skills of mathematics. Thus, basic mathematics cannot be eliminated from a school syllabus.

On the other hand, critics argue that every individual does not need to know mathematics. In other words, there are artists and painters who are just concerned with creativity subjects. Such professions do not find math to be of any use. Therefore, according to them; mathematics should not be taught to such such students who are aiming to excel in an art related field.

In conclusion, after analyzing both the views, I firmly believe that mathematics should be taught in school to all type of students. Although some students in an art profession may find it less useful but they will need to know the basics of the subject because money handling is required in every profession.