Some people believe that residents are responsible for the place where they live to be clean and tidy. Others believe that the government is responsible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The world is facing numerous pressing issues nowadays with the increase in population. One such biggest concern is cleanliness and hygiene of our surroundings. But the questions is who should be accountable for bringing this change? Government authorities or local citizens. I strongly believe that it should be a combined effort of both administrative bodies and the local residents. This essay will analyze this viewpoint with suitable examples and suggest how the coordination of both can make a big difference.

The government of any nation has the power to pass new laws and to improve the economy of the country. This power of the administration can be used to spread awareness about sanitation and launch schemes at a national level. It has been seen that in many backward countries, rural areas suffer from hygiene. Therefore, it is the legal duty of the government to spread awareness among people and let them know how the uncleanliness in their neighborhood affects their physical health. In addition to this, sufficient funds are also required by the government to pay for the services such as garbage collection offered by municipal workers. For instance, the government of India has launched the 'Swachh Bharat' mission in India at a national level in 2014 with an aim to achieve open defecation free states and reduce the use of plastic. Ministry of India has also provided considerable funds for the success of this movement. From a purely financial perspective and raising awareness, the involvement of government is necessary.

At the same time efforts of administration would be in vain If people would not support them and act with a sense of responsibility. People should at least spare few minutes from their daily regime to devote themselves in the cleanliness of not their household but also their neighborhood. It is the sole duty of every citizen to throw litter in garbage bins, to keep their roads clean, to avoid the usage of plastic bags and abide by the government laws. Parents and teachers should teach children these moral values as part of education. These minute efforts by everyone pave the way to clean place to live for them and future generations as well.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that living in a clean and beautiful place is a dream of everyone and this can be seen alive by the joined hands of government and local people.