Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this technological advanced world, advertisements are an effective method to promote a new product in the competitive market. Therefore, some people tend to purchase certain unnecessary products by influencing from these lucrative adverts.

While there are certain demographics of the society who hold the different opinion that advertisements made their life easy by introducing new features of the products with the click of a button. However, I accede with former viewpoint and this essay will support this argument with the examples of various promotion strategies, which big companies adopt to increase their sale by attracting customers.

It is human tendency to buy products at effective cost. Therefore, several brands launch their goods in the market at discounted rate. This strategic approach not only benefits the manufacturers in the sale of a product but beat their corrivals as well. For instance, Fog deodorant, when first launched in India came up with an offer of buy one get one free. Though people didn't have primary need of body mist but they purchased the product and addicted to the fragrance because of the offer they were attracted to. Nowadays, Fog is one of the top rated fragrances in India due to its maximum sale.

Prominent brands pay a fortune to celebrities and superstars to promote their products and services, which influence their followers and they stock up unwanted goods while shopping. To support this statement, I am mentioning the example of energy drink Red Bull being promoted by Virat Kohli, the Indian cricketer. Consumers of this drink accept that they drink Red Bull not because of the instant energy and the taste it offers but for Virat's promotion. Thus, these instances substantiate that one-third of the consumers pay for needless goods because of these advertisements.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that most of the advertisements are designed to attract customers and they can't resist themselves from buying unwanted items.