Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is supposed that educators should not assign homework to students, while other distinct individuals believe that is a factor of indispensable importance in the child’s development. I personally would side with the second view that children should be given homework.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why it is supposed that educators should not assign the homework for students. Firstly, spending most of time on studying, especially theory, would make students have no time for extracurricular or outdoor activities contributing to physical health as a necessary aspect of education. It means that students should be advocated to take part in more outdoors activities and social projects for their full-scale development. Secondly, the one more evidence to backtrack this idea is that children should have more leisure time for entertainment and relaxation for a better mental health. This is because it will alleviate the pressure students are under after concentrating on learning for a long time. Moreover, they will no longer have to suffer from diseases namely nearsightedness and back pain..

On the other hand, some people claim that students should be assigned by teachers due to its benefits facilitating the academic path. Firstly, while self-study is considered as the best way to enhance any learning experience, assigning homework seems to be a precondition to improve that skill which provide available and abundant documents for all of the subjects. An excellent illustration of this is that students could get access to a more crucial knowledge rather than they have to waste time searching for others on the internet. Thus, children could have a good grasp of lessons at school and gain better academic performances. Secondly, homework is parallel with self-study promoting independent learning and responsibility. It gives students a sense of freedom to decide what they have to study, then the students become more attached and involved in the wholesome learning process without other people's promptings.

In conclusion, from my point of view, both have their own advantages. However, the benefits of having assignments outweigh that of their counterpart.