Some people believe that technology has made a man more sociable and others think that it has made us less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is often argued that technology is a remarkable tool to help people socialize with each other, while others claim that the frequent use of technology actually isolate individuals, as they avoid personal interaction. This essay will analyze both opinions and support the former statement, as many social media networks are used to improve social engagement between people.

Advances in technology transformed our lives, especially in the social interaction aspect of life, as modern society have been relying their relationships on many social media networks. This means that, in such a hectic life, society members have been using these communication tools to interact with their loved ones anywhere and anytime. For example, Facebook and Instagram became a vital line used to connect people around the world, because this online interaction does not rely on anyone’s agenda or necessarily needs to schedule a time and place to happen. Thus, technology has brought people together, because in today’s world, individuals utilize their mobile phones and computer to be in touch with their friends, families and business partners, as it is much easier and convenient, which means it helped people to manage their personal relationships and their daily responsibilities without any geographical barrier.

Although it is widely known that technology has many benefits, it is important to mention the opposite view, because in some cases, the excessive use can make people more introvert. In other words, people that become technophile tend to substitute personal contact with virtual one. To illustrate, a study conducted by Cambridge University showed that 46% of people who perform their studies or work from home, without any human contact for days presented signs of depression and lack of social skills. However, extreme cases like these are not as common, which means technology is still helping people to be socially active.

To conclude, technology made social interaction easier and handy, however it is vital to control the time spent on mobile phones and computers in order to maintain the right balance between virtual and face-to-face contact.