At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of oler people.Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many nations have more young citizens than elderly ones. I personally believe this is a favorable situation because the youth are healthier and more productive, even though they still need to learn important lessons from the senior population in order to contribute with their country’s development.

On the one hand, young people can bring many positive features to a nation, because not only they present better health conditions, but also because they are the workforce of many important companies. In other words, the youth will not need to receive as many healthcare as the old people; also, they are still working, which means they generate revenues for the government by paying taxes, consequently they do not rely on public funds. For example, European countries are concerned with the number of retirements, which increased 51% in the last decade, so the public funds are decreasing enormously because of their ageing population and the lack of taxpayers in their cities. Thus, young residents contribute with the countries’ economy, which is essential to make the population thrive.

On the other hand, it is crucial to mention the importance of the elderly people to any country’s development, as they have the life experience needed to understand and solve many problems society faces. This means that young adults would not be able to develop solutions without the wisdom of their ancestors. For instance, Google has many young employees as they are very innovative people and create many original products and ideas, but some high posts are occupied by senior workers, especially in the management sector of the company, because they have more work experience and a sense of responsibility that most young staff does not. Therefore, it is vital to understand the contribution of every person despite their age.

To conclude, although senior citizens can contribute with their knowledge and life experience, I firmly believe that a younger population is more beneficial to any country, as they do not require many healthcare and are still paying taxes to help subsidize public services.