Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think that it has made people less social. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Over the course of years, manners of interaction have changed a great deal. Some people consider that technology allows them to be more social while others believe that it has reduced human interaction. Whereas, I believe that technology has permitted people to socialize with ease regardless of distance and amount of time.

It is believed by a school of thought that due to advent of technology, people can interact with others more often than before. Since having access to mobile phones and internet, they keep themselves in contact with their beloved ones conveniently which was almost impossible in the past. Due to unavailability of mediums, such as landlines, emails and mobile phones, people used to develop limited communication, however, now they can talk and see each other through various applications, for example, FaceApp, WhatsApp, Messenger and many more. The fast, convenient and widely available sources of communication have made socializing quite easier than before.

On the other hand, other school of thought consider that technology is the cause of reduced social gatherings. In the past, when technology was not this much advanced and common, they used to have more communal gatherings than these days. Unlike the past, leisure time activities have transformed from socializing face-to-face to staying busy on the internet. This, consequently, has shrunk social activities and live human interaction.

In my opinion, technology has brought changes into type of relationship. People prefer to communicate with their relatives, friends through gadgets like phones instead of meeting them in person. Moreover, they are more into making friends with people by having interaction online. So, technology has changed kind of relationships, and it has neither increased social interaction nor decreased. Instead, it does not consume time and energy in connecting with your friend and relatives.

To conclude, while people have shifted their reliance from physically held meetings to online communication, it has altered nature of relationships due to mediums. There is no difference in the level of socializing, but only mediums have switched. Instead of blaming technology, there is a need to appreciate convenience and comfort brought by it, especially in communication with others.