Some people believe that they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state. Do you agree or disagree?

People’s opinion differ on the subject of taxation, as some may consider it as inequitable, I, however, contradict with this assertion.

Firstly, revenue generated by money collected through taxes are used for government operations. Meaning that State needs money in order to govern. For that purpose, Minister’s Cabinet, legislation and research departments are developed to execute state responsibilities which if not existent, will lead to chaos as an individual cannot perform duties of these departments. Furthermore, departments like Ministry of Eternal Affairs helps in developing state relations, as seeing globally, a country would not be able to survive in thriving world without absence of these.

Secondly, State offers security and benefits to public with the tax money. For instance, Defense Department run the military and general security agencies like local Police force, confirming the provision of secure environment for people. Additionally, healthcare and education system is assured by construction of hospitals and educational institutions including school and universities. To illustrate, Ethiopia has a literacy rate of 12% as the educational budget was only 2 million dollars however on the other hand, Germany has 98% literacy rate with 1.2 Billion dollars spent on education yearly. These all above mentioned department facilitates public and help them with achieve quality life.

Admittedly, states like Alaska, which is a part of USA, is tax free but this cannot be true for every country as it is rich in fossil fuels making it a self-sustained piece of land. Although governments can take actions to increase resources like tourism to reduce taxation.

In conclusion, I believe that taxes are necessary for the governance and for the purpose of life standard increment.