Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Nowadays, more and more items are wasted into the landfill or water sources every day. Many people argue that this situation happens because people are not serious to recycle their garbage at home. As a result, there should be legal restrictions on recycling to reduce waste. I completely agree with this argument and also give one more suggestion to solve the issue in a better way.

On the one hand, adopting official rules on household rubbish is essential to make a significant contribution to the increase in recycled waste products. When these rules are on wide publicity, they will strongly remind people of being serious to categorize garbage; otherwise, a strict fine will be given to individuals who do not follow the rules. For example, instead of throwing away clothes and electronic devices to the landfill or the sea, now household families have to collect these items and then give them back to the environmental staff to be solved in right places. Thanks for that, recycled items are increasing while the environment is protected better.

On the other hand, beside the main rules, the government should also have several soft policies to encourage people to recycle waste voluntarily. Too much strict restrictions may cause escalating frustrations to individuals and deter them from the sense of the freedom; therefore, soft policies sometimes seems to be more successful than strict rules in solving problems. A friendly policy could be of giving lucrative financial incentives for individuals who achieve the biggest number of recycling in a year. This method not only makes individuals feel happy when following rules but also give environment-protection campaigns a chance to be widely promoted among people.

In conclusion, I agree that it is necessary for the policy makers to pose requirements on recycling waste so that the number of recycled household items will be increased. However, some less strict solutions should also be applied to make people not feel serious and anxious when following rules.