QUESTION. Tourism has become an important industry. This can damage traditional culture.Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.?

Although tourism is seen to possibly damage the normal lifestyles of the local tourist destination,it is also an essential activity.In my opinion,i think that tourism brings more benefits compared to any demerits it may bring.

Despite the minor drawbacks below,i believe there are significant merits tourism brings to the people in the tourist destination.Firstly, it can serve as a source of income,thereby increasing the local economy and quality of life.For example,the Sun newspaper recently reported that in 2018,that the UK economy improved drastically due to the rate at which tourist influxed the country over the past years.Secondly,another crucial benefit is the reinvestment of the income gotten from the tourism for infrastructural purposes such as medical facilities;industries;roads railway network.As a result,leads to the growth of the host country and even boosting tourism more.Thirdly,it is advantageous for creating jobs for the local people. In other words,jobs are made available to the host country in terms of transportation,accommodation and eatery places(resturants).

Admittedly,there are minor drawbacks in tourism. One of the problem is that it might cause environmental damages such as air pollution,erosion and littering the places with dirts.Therefore,this might be detrimental to the well being of the local people.Nevertheless,most tourist countries have environmental officials which ensures such problem does not happen. In addition,tourism can cause cultutal clashes.For instance,some tourists might behave in an irresponsible way,refusing to live the lifestyles or obey the cultures and traditions of the local people which could lead to cultural clashes.However, there is no evidence to support this,because local lifestyle is still valued by they tourists.

In conclusion,i will therefore argue that even though there are drawbacks of tourism,they are outweighed by the benefits of being a source of income,creating jobs and for infrastructural development which tourism can bring.