Some people prefer shopping in shopping centres while others prefer local markets. What are the advantages of each? Which shopping experience do you prefer?

People have different preferences in term of shopping places and shopping experience. Many people choose to shop in malls or plazas while others like to buy goods from a traditional market. The following essay explains about benefits of both places and also expresses my preference.

For a number of reasons, some people choose to purchase goods from a large marketplace. Firstly, shopping in a shopping mall is safer than that of local markets. Malls and plazas are equipped with the surveillance system and security guards ensure safety and security of customers. Secondly, shopping in a mega complex is more convenient and comfortable as most shopping malls are equipped with air conditioners that make the temperature soothing. Facilities like play zone for children, credit card payment, cineplex, food court etc. attracts many customers.

However, few people still prefer local markets for the price. It is common that in a traditional market people get comparatively cheaper prices. Many unique or traditional products are not sold in modern places that are available in local markets. For examples, handmade crafts are only sold in local markets and each of the items is unique because it is a custom made product.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that shopping in modern market places or in traditional markets has their own positive sides. I personally like to shop at a local market because I am a good bargainer and I could buy things at a better price. Shopping experience, price and variety of goods in a local market makes it more suitable for me to shop there more frequently.