Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In today's world, advertising has changed the way good and services are sold in global markets. Any kind of product or offering has the capability to become an overnight sensation, if it is marketed well. In this essay, we will discuss about the pivotal role that advertising plays in improving people's lives by infoming them about the pros and cons of various products and services.

Some people believe that advertisements create needs in the minds of consumers and provokes them to purchase a product. It is true that a need is created, however, advertisements only highlight the benefits of a particular product and no kind of coercion is involved. For example, water purifiers are installed in majority households; however, some people still prefer to drink tap water or use other methods to filter water. Evidently, advertisements about water purifiers only help in informing customers about their advantages; the decision to buy or not to buy lies with the consumer.

People often blame advertisements for increasing household expenses and promting unnecessary purchasing amonst buyers. It is important to understand the post purchase benefits and weigh them against the cost of procuring these products. For example, the sales of a solar portable charger increased by 40% in 2019 when the online advertisement depicting its advantages went viral. Although these chargers were more expensive than their electrical counterparts, they were easily rechargeable on the go and did not need electric supply.

In a nutshell, this essay discussed the importance of advertisements in improving lives of people by informing them about new products and services. Advertising helps drive the competition upwards benefitting the end customers as they get various options to choose from.