Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there has been growing concern among academic and industrial professionals, both from developing and developed countries, over the lengthy duration spent by students in learning facts and theories as against practical skills. In my opinion, I will align my argument with the former with excerpts from the Daily Independent Journal and New York Times magazine.

To begin with, every practical skill to be learned at all educational level, has a theoretical foundation which must be thought and studied appropriately. Therefore, no amount of time spent in theories and facts can be deemed to be too much. More so, a number of institutions, particularly the primary and secondary schools, do not have the needed facilities to teach these practical skills. Consequently, the allotted time for practical sessions are channeled to theoretical and factual teachings to ensure the judicious use of the time. For instance, the New York Times magazine reported that 70% of schools in Lagos do not have laboratory for either chemistry or physics practical.

On the flip side, it can be argued that the widespread belief of imbalance in the time spent by students on learning theory against practical is not true as supported by the subsequent points. Some leading economies in the world (such as Japan, China, Germany and United States of America), have a balanced timetable for both theoretical and field studies across all level of education. This is evident in their level of development as children (as young as 3 years) have access to practical enhancing tools such as computer devices. This is not the case in developing countries (like Nigeria, Venezuela and Namibia) where such aids as seen as luxury. In addition, increased GDP contribution to a nation’s revenue is another evidence of the balance between practical and theoretical teachings in schools. Such impact can be seen in countries like Germany and China where goods consumed are significantly indigenous products, majorly championed by graduates due to the practical skills they developed while studying. An empirical survey conducted by the Daily Independent Journal shows that 60% Germany’s revenue are from indigenous products. This is 50% difference when juxtaposed with that of Nigeria, which is Africa’s leading economy.

As a closing remark, it is obvious that too much time is not spent on facts as against learning practical skills as purported by a school of thought. This is supported by the economic development made by school pupils and GDP contribution of products invented by graduates in developed countries.