Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In recent times, there has been continuous concerns with regards to the increasing number of tourists, who have chosen to explore areas around the world with harsh conditions such as the Sahara desert and Antarctic Ocean. This adventurous practice has its pros and cons, which will be discussed in this essay with excerpts from the Nat Geo wild Journal and New York Independent magazine.

To begin with, man only occupies and extensively knows so much about 60% of the earth, with the remaining 40% (Sahara desert and Antarctic ocean inclusive) left to explore. Through tourism, man can decipher the hidden truth about such places, thereby increasing our knowledge base. In addition, schools curricula are modified to meet recent development and supported by pictures taken by tourists when they visit such places with harsh conditions. For example, students learn about mountains and deep ocean creatures in Geography, because tourists have provided current information because they were able to visit such places.

On a flip side, such adventures undoubtedly have serious disadvantages to the tourists. Firstly, tourists are exposed to attack by wild animals such as sharks and whales, found in the Antarctica. In most cases, such trips end up to being a survival mission other than tourism and possibly death. The Nat Geo Wild Journal reported that 70% of deaths in the Antarctic in 2018 were attributed to sharks. More so, the health condition of tourists often do not remain the same whenever they return from such trips. Extreme conditions such as high temperature, exposure to insect bite, and dusts are not human friendly and can affect vital organs (such as the skin, liver, lungs, and so on). According to the New York Independent magazine, John Armstrong, the first man to visit the Sahara died of kidney failure four years after he returned from the desert.

As a closing remark, the increase in knowledge base and modification of school curriculum to meet recent development, are part of the benefits of such adventures. However, the danger to human life and devastating health effects of tourists are setbacks which cannot be overlooked.