Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, academicians both from under developed and developed societies have debated on the best teaching environment for a child’s development; while some argue that the home is best, others say it should be the school instead. These two have their advantages which will be discussed in this essay but I want to align my opinion with later because of the social and technical development of the child.

To begin with, there are daily evidences that indicate why children should learn in schools. One reason is the availability of teaching and learning aids such as computer center, library and sports facilities (examples are football pitch, tennis court, etc), which enhances the students’ understanding. In other words, the child is better developed and prepared for life after school. A recent study by Harvard shows that pupils that are taught in schools perform significantly better than their peers. More so, since learning should be multi-dimensional, a child’s confidence and self-esteem is improved in schools. This is a consequence of the interaction with students from other culture and background.

On the flipside, home teaching has also proven to have its merits such as guaranteed security of the pupil. Insecurity, a major challenge which the society has found difficult to curtail, has compelled schools to close and a significant figure of citizens resorting to home teaching. Undoubtedly, parents are assured of the safety of their wards without any fear of kidnapping or suicide bombing, particularly in the Northern region of Nigeria where 60% of learning are done at home. In addition, parents are not burdened about the information their children are exposed to because they have control of the environment. This is implies that the child will have very limited access to immoral and corrupt information at home unlike in schools where control is not available.

To recapitulate, while home teaching has its merits, I am of the opinion that children should be allowed to learn in schools because of the access to learning aids and facilities, as well as increased self-esteem and confidence.