Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

Education at primary and tertiary levels makes an individual a complete human being and equips him/her with professional and emotional skills. Moreover, it has been seen that the educational institutions has been following an age old curriculum where emphasis is laid on grasping facts as compared to practical knowledge. In my opinion, this holds true to a certain extent.

To embark upon, schools and colleges are still following the archaic structure to education where an individual has to learn theory in every class. Moreover, the assessments are also concentrated on knowing how well the child knows these facts. These basic concepts serve as a foundation for child's knowledge and are used to attain advance concepts thereafter. Likewise, the theoretical knowledge is a prerequisite for companies recruiting people and are considered as one of the selection criteria. Once an individual is selected, the company makes him/her undertake training programs which concentrate on leveraging the conceptual knowledge into learning relevant practical skills.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to only acquiring conceptual knowledge. As a matter of fact, not all children are good in learning of theory and may fail on this ground. Therefore, practical skills become very important in such cases and will help an individual to survive the competition. Another aspect of over-exposure to theory is that the children are restricted to use their own imagination. As a result, the analytical skills are not developed and this hampers the overall development. Therefore, practical skills can be used as an aid to develop analytical and cognitive knowledge and strengthen the thought process of an individual.

To recapitulate, the educational institutions should create a curriculum which should be based on learning of both theory and practical. This will help in complete development of a person and give him/her a chance to survive in this competitive world.