Some people say that attendance should be made compulsory in educational institutions.

Others believe that it should be optional. Which of these two views do you support and why?

Some people argue that making attendance compulsory in schools, colleges, and universities is not essential, while others say that it should be mandatory for all students. This essay agrees with the latter statement, because it gives teachers an opportunity to have control over students, and it also makes students responsible.

There is no doubt to say that teachers need to control students effectively and to mark attendance makes it easier. This is because every time a teacher marks the attendance of his students, he or she comes to knows who is coming to school regularly. If they find out that a student happens to be excessively absent, they can call his parents. This is vital as there might be a case where a student deceives his parents by showing that he is going to school, but goes somewhere else. For instance, when I used to study in my school, I came to know about a similar case, and it was found after investigation that one student used to spend his school time going to cinemas, instead of attending his school.

Marking attendance also creates responsibility for students. If students know that they have to be present in their schools or colleges every day, they will be more active to make sure they do not miss out on their schools. As a result, they would learn how to become a disciplined person. Furthermore, they are likely to work hard to get good grades because regularly attending their classes would help them to get more knowledge than other students who make absences often. A report by the Jhang showed that over 55% of students who were regularly taking their classes showed good grades.

In conclusion, I support the view of making attendance a necessary part of educational activities, because it gives teachers an effective control over students, and it makes students more responsible and disciplined.